Flyball is a dog sport in which teams of dogs race against each other from the start to the finish line, over a line of hurdles, to a box that releases a tennis ball to be caught when the dog presses the spring-loaded pad, then back to their handlers while carrying the ball.

Flyball is run in teams of four dogs, as a relay. The course consists of four hurdles placed 3.05 meters apart from each other, with the starting line 1.83 m from the first hurdle, and the flyball box 4,57 m after the last one, making for a 15,55 m length. The hurdle height is determined by the ulna's length or the smallest dog's.

Most of the European teams race by the rules of FCI. In the UK they race by the rules of UKFL or BFA.


Flyball is a teamsport and provides an entertaining and active way to interact with one's dog and other dog enthusiasts in an enjoyable environment while allowing the dogs exercise and enjoyment. It is an especially effective way to burn off dogs' energy with a high drive to work.

Flyball started as a dog sport in the late 1960s and early 1970s in Southern California. Some dog trainers combined scent hurdle racing with the dogs bringing back a tennis ball to the finish line. Then a tennis ball-launching apparatus was added, and the first flyball box was born. Herbert Wagner is credited with making the first real flyball box, and he also demonstrated flyball on The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson.

The first flyball tournament was held in 1983 in the United States.

Flyball has now expanded into many countries, including Australia, Canada and South Africa, and in European countries such as Belgium, Czech RepublicFinland, Germany, the NetherlandsPoland, Austria, Hungary, France and the United Kingdom have national flyball tournaments and also hold joint annual European championships.

For years the world record flyball was in hands of teams from the American continent. Since June 2023 the World record is in hands of a Belgian flyball team Roadrunners Beep beep with a current fastest time of 14,15 sec.


The European championships, which are the largest international Flyball championships, were held in the United Kingdom in 2007,2012 and 2016, the Czech Republic in 2008 and 2022; Poland in 2018; Belgium in 2009, 2010, 2013 and 2017; Germany in 2011, 2015 and 2019; France in 2014 and Hungary in 2023.

The Belgian flyball team Roadrunners Beep Beep is the reigning European champion since EFC2019.